House January 6 Committee Release Final Report

The Jan. 6 House committee released the final report after investigating the events leading up to the riot at the capitol on Jan. 6, 2021. The report breaks down all the evidence gathered during the investigation that lasted for several months.

The nearly 850-page report made four criminal referrals of former President Donald Trump to the Department of Justice. The four charges the committee wishes to bring against Trump include conspiracy to defraud the U.S., inciting an insurrection, making a false statement, and obstruction of an official proceeding.

“The central cause of January 6th was one man, former President Donald Trump, who many others followed,” the committee claimed in their report. “None of the events of January 6th would have happened without him.”

The report also recommends that Congress bars Trump from ever holding office again. It is unclear if the DOJ will prosecute Trump on the charges, as the department is not obligated to follow the committee’s recommendations.

Trump immediately pushed back on the committee’s findings while describing the finding as a “witch hunt.” The former president said the committee was highly partisan and purposely ignored his recommendation for troops to be used to protect the Capitol.

Adding substance to Trump’s partisan claim is the fact that the committee is made up of all Democrats, save two Republicans – Adam Kinzinger (R-IL) and Liz Cheney(R-WI). House Speaker Nancy Pelosi declined the two Republicans tapped by House GOP Leader Kevin McCarthy to sit on the committee but instead chose Kinzinger and Cheney, who were known enemies of Trump.

Trump added that the committed failed to show the “Peacefully and Patrioticly” words he used. He also said the committee did not study the reason for the protest.

The committee also referred four Republican Congressmen to the House ethics committee after the reps refused to honor subpoenas asking them to appear before the Committee during the investigation. The four Congressmen are House minority leader Kevin McCarthy and Representatives Jim Jordan(R-OH), Scott Perry (R-PA), and Andy Biggs (R-AZ.)